Sunday Photo Fiction: June 1st 2014

Every week on a Sunday, a new photo is used as a prompt for Flash Fiction challenge using around 200 words based on that image. Your story does not have to be exactly what the item in the photo is as long as there is at least a reference to it. You can make it anything you want, and enjoy what you write, and we will as well.

Please remember to add your piece to the list of others by clicking on the little creature, and you can also add the creature to your own post by clicking on the link beneath it. Have fun, and I look forward to reading what you have written.

 
get the InLinkz code

Someone told me that shoes over a wire like this, signifies drugs for sale nearby. That may or may not be true. But you could use it for anything.
Someone told me that shoes over a wire like this, signifies drugs for sale nearby. That may or may not be true. But you could use it for anything.
27 thoughts on “Sunday Photo Fiction: June 1st 2014

  1. I think that bit about the ‘drugs’ might be an urban legend. I remember that happening when I was a kid – all the time and while I am not saying drugs weren’t around then… I just don’t think at least forty or fifty years ago tossing your shoes meant that. The tossing of shoes over the wires basically meant that there was some sort of a celebration. Like school was out and you didn’t need your gym shoes anymore.

    Going to have to come back to this as it is a stretch to relate it to either of my continuing series. Though just the wires… or just the shoes…. (spin, spin, spin…)

    Like

    1. It probably is an urban legend. Although you need one hell of a throwing arm to get them up there. I know where I am going with Dan on this one 🙂

      Like

      1. If the kiddies nap at the same time… or after they go home… then maybe I’ll have some thinking time before I retire early. This whole week is going to be consumed by kiddies and the sleep required to care for them 🙂

        Cheers, ~J

        Like

  2. That’s what our local police told me too, Alistair. There’s one street near me that has shoes disappear and reappear regularly. A police presence (aka raid) takes place regularly in a couple of houses nearby too.

    Like

  3. I have never had a clue what it meant; I did think at one point it meant someone had died, esp relating to gang violence, and in honour of that persons death, they would hang up his trainers (sneakers). But, if it means there are dealers about, and the police know that’s what it means, I think the dealers need a new code.

    The first time I ever saw it’s reference was on this US reality show for would be rappers, and each time a contestant was eliminated, they would have to hang their sneakers up on the shows wire – which has just made its meaning even more confusing!

    I’m out, I have no idea whatsoever!! So, I’m thinking now, how to weave this image into a story?! I guess there’s scope (the cogs are turning!) 😉

    Like

    1. It is a difficult prompt this week. I like the show where they hang up their shoes 🙂 Let’s just hope they didn’t have holes in their socks

      Like

Comments are closed.